Author Topic: Ancestry DNA matches without a suscription  (Read 445 times)

Offline TonyV

• RootsChat Senior
  • Expect the unexpected (I forgot to!)
    • View Profile
Ancestry DNA matches without a suscription
« on: Saturday 30 September 23 17:43 BST (UK) »
I am in touch with someone who has taken an Ancestry DNA test but doesn't have a subscription to Ancestry. She tells me that she cannot therefore see matches. I cannot see anything on Ancestry that supports that and indeed all their marketing stuff seems to suggest that matches come as standard, even if you have only taken the test.

There is however a let out in small print that says that some services are only available with a subscription, but it doesn't say which. Also I know that it is possible to turn matches off, or perhaps opt not to show them.

I have a subscription so cannot test her understanding. Can any of you tell me whether she is correct?

Offline familydar

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Ancestry DNA matches without a suscription
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 30 September 23 17:56 BST (UK) »
My sister doesn't have a sub but she can definitely see her DNA matches
ALLEN
BARR, BARRATT, BERRY, BRADLEY,BRAMLEY,BRISTOW,BROWN,BUGBIRD,BUTLER
CAIN,CARR,CHAPMAN,CHARLES,CH*LTON,CHESTER,COCKETT
COLLASON,COLLYER,CORKERY
DARLING, DENYER,DICKERSON,DOLLING,DURBAN
FARMER,FURNELL
GIBSON,GILES,GROOMBRIDGE
HALL,HAMBIDGE,HARMES,HART,HICKS,HILL,HOLLOWAY
JACKSON
K*AT*S
LANCASTER,LINTON
MCDONALD,MCFADEN,MEARS,MILLARD
NICOLAS,NOAK,NORTH
PARFIT,PORTER
RIPPINGALE,ROBINS
SEARLE,SPENCER,STEDHAM
TYLER,TILLY,TUCKWELL
WADE,WAGER,WALKER,WATSON,WEBB,WITHRINGTON,WOOD

Offline TonyV

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 30 September 23 18:02 BST (UK) »
Thanks Familydar. That is certainly what I would expect.

Offline jc26red

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Saturday 30 September 23 20:30 BST (UK) »