Author Topic: DNA Mystery  (Read 508 times)

Offline AmandaSoutter

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
DNA Mystery
« on: Sunday 19 November 23 11:16 GMT (UK) »
Hi Everyone,

I'm fairly new to DNA ancestry, moat of my research has been through family and historical records. Anyway, my parents and I alp did DNA tests and my dad's was the main interest as I have hit a brick wall.

My ancestor Arthur Head Souter, was based born in Plumpton 1799. At some point John Souter took him in and raised him as his son. John is a mystery of his own, he's untraceable before his marriage in 1773  in Plumpton.

Anyway, my father's DNA test showed 2 Souter matches with family links to  Amberly,West Sussex. Suggesting my dad was there 5x cousin ( one shares 21.4‎ cM of DNA and the other 15.4‎ cM of DNA) I've gone back but cannot find a family link and now I'm not sure where to go from here. My father is the last male alive of his line so I can't ask anyone else. His line since John Souter has been known East Sussex with no known links to West Sussex.

Can anyone offer any advice on where to go from here?
Many thanks

Offline Glen in Tinsel Kni

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Scottish Borders
    • View Profile
Re: DNA Mystery
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 21 November 23 09:35 GMT (UK) »
I would suggest it's worth downloading the results you have and uploading them to other  sites such as gedmatch, myheritage, MyLivingDNA and myFTDNA. That way the results will be compared against others that you may never otherwise see and many of the sites also allow tree hosting so you may find some clues through those too.