Author Topic: Adamson, Gainford  (Read 708 times)

Offline Harlem

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Adamson, Gainford
« on: Tuesday 21 November 23 14:34 GMT (UK) »
Hello
I am a volunteer researcher for the Quilters’ Guild of Great Britain. The Guild has a museum collection of quilts, and it asks members who have some experience of genealogy research to research the quilt makers. I am currently researching Jane Ann Adamson (nee Dawson) of Gainford, near Darlington in County Durham, who lived between 1870 and 1952. I have been able to find out a lot about her: BMD records, censuses, wills and so on are available to me on Ancestry. However, I have two questions that I wonder if anyone can help me with.
Jane Ann married Ernest Clifford Adamson in 1901. He was a builder and continued a company that seems to have been built up by his father in the late nineteenth century. The company and family papers are in the Durham Archives, which is currently closed pending a relocation. Their extensive online catalogue suggests a very large and successful company, but I am wondering what happened to it. There is no-such company now, so it closed sometime since the 1930s. Does anyone have any idea why, and what happened?
My second question concerns Jane Ann’s role as Job Secretary to the Gainford and District Nursing Association. This is mentioned in a press cutting from 1946. Does anyone know what this association might have been? Was it a trade union, a professional organisation, or even a business? Again, there are papers in the Durham archives, currently inaccessible.
Any help or ideas would be greatly appreciated.
Kent. Spendiff
Northumberland.  Bell,Cullen,Noon,Hall

Offline ColC

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Adamson, Gainford
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 21 November 23 17:47 GMT (UK) »
Clarke, Trickett, Orton, Lawless, Norton, Detheridge, Kirby, Goodfellow, Wagstaff, Lowe, etc.