Author Topic: New research into Scottish family . Luife/ Love . Govan .  (Read 490 times)

Offline frederickay

• RootsChat Veteran
  • I've not edited my PROFILE yet
    • View Profile
New research into Scottish family . Luife/ Love . Govan .
« on: Wednesday 06 December 23 02:39 GMT (UK) »
Hi , I have moved away from my parents family and onto my in laws . I am a total novice in Scottish history . I do have a tree which takes my Love family in Govan / Greenock to 1555 and Sir Robert John Luife. It is mentioned he is a “ Prince of Scotland “ .
His father …. I think was Rev.Father William of Glasgow and mother Lady Margeret Pudzean/Podstene 1531-1613
. I may have that wrong
. There is mention of Johniss Luife and Margeret Douglas . I see the name became Love and both my daughter and grandaughter have it as their second names .
I don't understand the description of Sir Robert and in more recent times the family were very poor living in the Greenock area of Glasgow with never a mention of higher births all those years before . I have to admit I have just copied other peoples trees so that is why I need to get a better understanding of Scottish names and heiracy . If Sir Robert John Luife was a Duke who bestowed this on him and did he keep it . I have googled infomation but I am really quite blank . Thanks for any help or pointing me in right direction . Fred .m
valentine.fairhurst,hayes,hammond,codling,rust.norfolk.deyrujo.jutsum.wharton.lacey,probert,prickett,preby atherley-jones.clifton ..london /china. judd, eubank , dixon , hine , airey ,park .twentyman , dampier , jones in suffolk , limby , derrick , stockwell..

Online mckha489

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: New research into Scottish family . Luife/ Love . Govan .
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 06 December 23 04:38 GMT (UK) »
Usual thing Fred, you need to start with what you definitely DO know,