Author Topic: Daniel Lofting born c1748...baptism record or parents?  (Read 157 times)

Offline PhilLofting

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Daniel Lofting born c1748...baptism record or parents?
« on: Friday 19 January 24 15:52 GMT (UK) »
Hello,

I have been researching my Lofting family tree for many years and now I have finally gotten around to looking for help for my toughest brick wall!

I know Daniel married Mary Newman on 21st Feb 1775 in Fareham, Hampshire and they had many children (which I have recorded).

William Ball and James Isaac were witnesses at his wedding.

William Ball married Sarah Newman on 2nd Nov 1768 in Fareham.  Sarah could have been Mary's sister.

Daniel was buried in Fareham on 2nd June 1804, aged 56.

However, I can find no record of a baptism for Daniel, or, well, anything before his marriage.

If anyone can help I would be eternally grateful!!

Offline goldie61

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Daniel Lofting born c1748...baptism record or parents?
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 21 January 24 02:59 GMT (UK) »
Hi and Welome to Rootschat! :)

There are several trees on MYHeritage for Daniel Lofting, none of which have found his birth, but many of which give his place of birth as Great Marlow, Buckinghamshire.
As you have not been able to find him also, it looks very possible he did come from Hampshire.
(I've found brick walls are often the case of people moving from different counties, or even different countries!).

Several trees on MYHeritage have the father of Daniel Lofting as another Daniel, died 1758.
He was a gentleman of Great Marlow, Buckinghamshire.
There is a will for this Daniel senior in the PCC wills on The National Archives Discovery site - free to download at the moment.
However, having read through it, there is no wife mentioned, or children.
There are several brothers mentioned though - William, Benjamin and Samuel.