Author Topic: Who was Abraham Lewis aka Judah Nathan born c1815 Aldgate?  (Read 957 times)

Offline Deborah G

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Who was Abraham Lewis aka Judah Nathan born c1815 Aldgate?
« on: Tuesday 23 January 24 05:31 GMT (UK) »
Abraham Lewis was tried at Middlesex Gaol on the 17th Aug 1833 and convicted of stealing a silk handkerchief. He was transported to Australia on the "Fairlie", arriving in New South Wales on the 15th Feb 1834. He was a barber by trade, had a crippled right leg and 18 years old. His father gave evidence at the trial and stated that he, too, was a barber and had lived in the same house in Aldgate for 22 years.
Abraham married Johanna Sullivan at Windsor, NSW, Australia in 1845. NSW BDM gives surname LEWES. The following year they had a daughter, born Rachel Lewis at Windsor. Abraham and Johanna parted company in the early 1850's and Abraham went on to live a life of petty crime. He took his own life by jumping off the Holdsworthy Bridge near Liverpool, NSW on the 16th Jan 1896. He was 81 years old and newspaper reports state that he was the oldest living Jewish convict.
On the NSW BDM, his name was recorded at time of death as LOUIS NATHAN. Whilst living in Sydney, he carried on his trade as a barber and was known as "Louey the Barber", also Judah Nathan and Hugh Nathan.