Author Topic: John Watson's Institution, Edinburgh  (Read 591 times)

Offline DavKars Hobby

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
John Watson's Institution, Edinburgh
« on: Wednesday 07 February 24 18:34 GMT (UK) »
I am new to this type of site and am looking for any help on how to continue my investigations beyond my current roadblock(s). Here are some of them.

1The latest census I can access is 1921. My mother was born in 1921 possibly  a month after the census was taken. Do I have to wait 10 more years until the 1931 census or is there another resource?

2. My mother was born with the surname Dickson and was the 5th daughter of Henry Dickson with no brothers. Her maiden name on the certificate when she married in 1943 was Dickson Daniels with her father as James Daniels, not Henry Dickson which suggests (to me) she was put up for adoption after she was born and adopted by the Daniels family for reasons currently unknown.

3. Her (adoptive?) father James Daniels is listed in the 1921 census as  "official" at John Watson's Institution in Edinburgh. What kind of Institution was this in 1921 and does the word "official" signify he was an employee there or an inmate/patient/pauper or something else?

4. When I lived in Edinburgh before I emigrated to Canada in1973, George Watson's was a charter school which I assumed meant it was a private school similar to Fettes I don't know if there was a linkage between John Watson and George Watson or if this is purely coincidental. that they each started a school/institution.

5. The census date was June 19th 1921 and my mother was (inconveniently) born on June 26th 1921 and does not appear on the listing for James Daniels under the John Watson's Institution entry. To trace my history on my mother's side I have to determine whether to follow the Dickson line or the Daniels line - suggestions as to what might have led to the change of surname?