Author Topic: Downloads saving as Adobe not Chrome  (Read 525 times)

Offline MaidinEngland

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Downloads saving as Adobe not Chrome
« on: Saturday 17 February 24 14:59 GMT (UK) »
Hi

I am not technically minded so bear with me as I try to explain.

I use Chrome browser and Windows 10.  I have stored on my computer some documents that were originally saved in pdf in April 23 - no problem.  Trying to access these today, they are now Adobe files.  When I try to open, I get the Adobe site but I am not a subscriber.  I have googled for advice - ie right click on the file and select open with........... but the Chrome option does not come up.

Totally confused how this could have happened and what to do to correct it.

Can anyone help.

Tks

Offline arthurk

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Downloads saving as Adobe not Chrome
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 17 February 24 15:52 GMT (UK) »
At the bottom of the "Open with" list it should say "Choose another app", and if you click this, Chrome will probably be in the list that appears. If not, try "More apps" and it should appear there.

After selecting Chrome, be sure to tick the box for "Always use this app" before you hit OK, otherwise you'll have to go through the process again.

There is another way to do this through Settings, but this one's a bit easier. If you still can't find Chrome, let us know and we can give the alternative instructions.

(pdf is a file type historically associated with Adobe and similar readers. Modern browsers can open them too, though they have a limited range of functions compared to dedicated pdf programs.)
Researching among others:
Bartle, Bilton, Bingley, Campbell, Craven, Emmott, Harcourt, Hirst, Kellet(t), Kennedy,
Meaburn, Mennile/Meynell, Metcalf(e), Palliser, Robinson, Rutter, Shipley, Stow, Wilkinson