Author Topic: Catholic Confirmation Names and their use.  (Read 171 times)

Offline David Dovey

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Catholic Confirmation Names and their use.
« on: Friday 08 March 24 15:54 GMT (UK) »
I'm new to Genealogy and have just started charting my tree and am puzzling over something and wondered if anyone can help explain something.
I have a Great-Grandfather who appears to use two different middle names.

He is Frances Thomas Murray on his Birth Certificate and his Military Records from WWII.
However, on his Wedding Certificate in January 1923 he is recorded as Francis JOSEPH Murray.
Then on his Son's Birth Certificate two months later in March 1923 he also uses the name Francis Joseph Murray (and also calls his son Francis Joseph Murray).
But on his sons Wedding Certificate in 1943 he is recorded as Francis Thomas Murray again!
His Death Index (not obtained a copy of the certificate yet), he is Francis T.

Knowing that he was a devout Catholic, I'm wondering if 'Joseph' was the Confirmation Name he chose.  If that is so, could/should he have used it on legal paperwork as mentioned above.
I note we has married in the Catholic Church in Birmingham.

Similarly my Great-Grandmother is only Violet on her Birth Certificate and her Wedding Certificate, but is Violet Martha on her death certificate.  I'm again thinking she converted to Catholicism in order to marry my Great-Grandfather in 1923 and chose the name Martha as a confirmation name.

Does any of the above sound feasible?
Is there any where a Catholic Confirmation name is recorded, so I could check on this?

Grateful for any general information anyone can supply

Thank You

David

Offline shanreagh

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Catholic Confirmation Names and their use.
« Reply #1 on: Friday 08 March 24 22:48 GMT (UK) »