Author Topic: finding ggrandfather's bio father  (Read 367 times)

Offline ruth52

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
finding ggrandfather's bio father
« on: Tuesday 12 March 24 18:45 GMT (UK) »
I am very new to DNA testing and have only a very basic knowledge so please forgive me if I get some things wrong!
My paternal ggf was illegitimate, born in 1849, family story is that the culprit was an Italian Count  ;).
In an attempt to try and find the real bio father I have been looking at those DNA matches in the region of 4 to 6th cousin, then eliminating those who have a provable link to my researched lines.
I have found (so far) 4 other matches who have no common ancestors with me, but all have one common ancestor who was living in the same area, at the right time. He was married and had named his son (born the year before my ggf) the same two names as my ggf.
DNA matches show a 4th cousin 1%- 72cm, other 4-6 cousin 43cm

Is this sufficient to consider that this individual is the missing father?
I have looked for bastardy orders etc, but as my ggmother married 2 years later I doubt this was pursued.
Is there anything else I can do? I have contacted one of the cousins so that they can check both trees to see if there  is any other links.
Ruth 
whyatt/wyatt - chesterfield,de rusett/quigley,crosbie -india, barber, beswick- yorkshire, astridge- portsmouth,
travis, gill, barker, fielding- derbyshire

Offline TreeDigger

• RootsChat Senior
  • Lioessens church 12th/tower 15th century
    • View Profile
Re: finding ggrandfather's bio father
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 12 March 24 20:28 GMT (UK) »
I think it's safe to say that any group of DNA matches unrelated to known ancestors are pretty indicative of an unknown ancestor  ;)

And the 4th cousin + cM amount do seem to point to that ancestor being in the 3x gr.grandparent region, so that would fit the story. Just be careful not to try and 'force' the matches to fit the story, as that may blind you to other options.