Author Topic: Shared 18% DNA  (Read 938 times)

Offline Tracey2016

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Shared 18% DNA
« on: Wednesday 20 March 24 22:14 GMT (UK) »
Hi I'm new to all this. I recently done a DNA test and have just received the results. It's showing alot of matches, but a few I'm unsure of or what to make of them. One came back saying we shared 18% DNA on my fathers side another one saying we shared 11% DNA again on my fathers side. I contacted both these people, the one that was 11% said she's never heard of the name I gave her. Strangely enough she is related to the person that shares 18% DNA with me. I haven't a clue who they are, but my father was a only child so how can they be related to me. I also recently found out that my dad's father was married before he met my grandmother. Can anyone share any light on this as I'm totally confused. I have a 2ND cousin on my mothers side who I know and I only share 7% DNA with her.  Tracey

Offline Jo6100

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: Shared 18% DNA
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 21 March 24 20:19 GMT (UK) »
My known first cousin shares 13%/ 900 cm with me so you have a close match. It may be that there was a child from the first marriage and neither family know about each other. My husband has a half sister who shares 25% dna/1770 cm so that shows that these are likely first cousins in my view.

Jo

Offline Tracey2016

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 21 March 24 20:51 GMT (UK) »
Yea I'm starting to think that hopefully I can dig in a little further

Offline RJ_Paton

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Cuimhnichibh air na daoine bho'n d'thainig sibh
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Thursday 21 March 24 22:15 GMT (UK) »
DNA Painter gives the probable relationships as

18% DNA
69% probability Grandparent Aunt / Uncle Half Sibling Niece / Nephew Grandchild
31% probability