Author Topic: a letter to bohermore  (Read 8257 times)

Offline cathy m

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
a letter to bohermore
« on: Thursday 06 October 05 23:24 BST (UK) »
hi everyone
this is my first time on the board.i wonder if anyone can help me with this.i cannot move forward with my grandmothers side.she had a very common name;MARY MORRIS [born about 1907].family say she was born in bohermore county galway.i visited this place last year and anyone who knows will be aware that it's really only 'one long road' as the name BOHERMORE means.anyway i thought i got a bit of a lead recently when my uncle said he remembers taking my g.mother to visit her family at NO 21 BOHERMORE.i was so chuffed i decided to write a letter to the occupants in the hope that the house was still standing and was possibly still occupied by a family member.i explained my case,but was so dissapointed to receive the letter unopened and undelivered back from the irish post office saying that it was improperly adressed with not enough information.i adressed it to 21 BOHERMORE,COUNTY GALWAY,IRELAND.can anyone enlighten me on how i should maybe have adressed it.
regards catherine

Offline Pat Reid

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: a letter to bohermore
« Reply #1 on: Friday 07 October 05 05:37 BST (UK) »
Catherine:
Perhaps they were being "picky". I think the name is Bothermore. Still, one would expect them to try to deliver.

Pat
Reid, McAlinden, Larmour, Mulholland, Kelly
Warrenpoint, Rostrevor, Rathfriland

Offline JAP

• RootsChat Leaver
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 07 October 05 06:37 BST (UK) »
Hi Catherine,

Googling for Bohermore, Galway gets many hits.

The following site:
http://www.galway.net/galwayguide/service/finance/bank/po.html
says that there is a sub post office at Bohermore.

I wonder whether it would be worthwhile addressing your letter to the Postmaster/Postmistress, Post Office, Bohermore, Galway, and seeking help?