Author Topic: Gardiner/Gardner  (Read 20435 times)

Offline Lemmey

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
Gardiner/Gardner
« on: Friday 18 August 06 23:23 BST (UK) »
I've been tracing family for a few months but only using family word of mouth and census info.  However tracing my father's family is more complicated as his grandmother died young and his mother (my nan) was raised by someone else from the age of 5 so starting point for that side of the family was with my nan's birth certificate.

My nan's mother is named as Emily Gardiner on my nan's birth certificate.  However on her marriage certificate (to Alfred Skilton) she is named as Lemmey Jayne Harriet Gardiner.  The 'print out' if you look up the marriage on e.g Free BMD says Lemmey Payne Harriet but I've got a copy of the certificate and it looks like Jayne to me  ::)  Its definately the right person as the address is the same for Alfred on the marriage certificate as it is for both of them on the birth certificate.

Her father is named as Noah Gardiner on the wedding certificate so I looked him up on the 1901 census.  He is down as Gardner with a daughter Jane of the right age.

The census listed several families with an address of Bottom Barn, Court Farm.  It also says see page 54.  On page 54 it simply says Court Farm, Gypsies.

Also listed as Gypsies alongside the Gardners 'at' Bottom Barn are the following families:  Curtis, Cooper, Lee, Deighton, Dilloway.

I can find no trace of Lemmey/Emily/Jane's birth certificate but would love to know which name she started with.  Calling children by their second name is still a family tradition so her being Jane on census and Lemmey/Emily on certificates seems about right  ;D 

Being rather new to this does anyone know how I can find if her name is actually Lemmey or Emily?  Plus is the confusion regarding first names usual? 

Edited to add - any hints on tracing Romany Roots also much appreciated. 
Croydon, Surrey - KENT, SKILTON, BESLEY, HIGGS