Author Topic: Death in WW2 bombing raid  (Read 22058 times)

Offline Carole B

• Deceased † Rest In Peace
  • RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
Death in WW2 bombing raid
« on: Friday 19 January 07 17:36 GMT (UK) »
This is my first post here and I am very new to genealogical research...so my aim is to seek advice from those who know the best approach to such things.

I am seeking ANY details at all about my maternal grandmother, but mainly details about her death. The only thing I know about her is her name: Nina Edmed. I don't know where or when she was born.  I was told that she  died during a bombing raid on Dover (Kent) 'some time' during WW2 and that is the sum total of my knowledge of her!!!

For family reasons she had cut herself off from my mother (her only child) and it seems had lied consistently throughout my mothers life about her origins. Mother was refused a copy of her birth certificate, but one which with the exception of the second name and surname fitted my mother's and grandmother's details,  was eventually obtained from Somerset House in the 60's.

I have written to the Registrar at Ramsgate in Kent asking if they can provide a death certificate, but they advised me that many records, both civil and church were destroyed during the raids on Dover. They added that they could find no trace of grandmother's death in the remaining records .

So where can I turn to now? Is there any other way of discovering where and when she died? I thought that perhaps newspapers of the time might carry lists of civilians killed, but would they still have such things (if they ever existed)?

Her life was one of constant subterfuge - I call her 'Naughty Nina' as I feel almost sure that she was an unmarried mother (shock-horror in 1913.... ::)) and subsequently 'lived with' my grandfather for some time. They are both named on mothers birth certificate. But mother was told that he died during WW1.