Author Topic: 18th Hussars  (Read 12741 times)

Offline petey22

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Charles Bocking Rogers & sons, Hendon1903
    • View Profile
18th Hussars
« on: Wednesday 14 May 08 14:07 BST (UK) »
dear all
I'm a bit new to the military side of things and this may sound a silly question, but, the 18th Hussars seem to be also called the 'Queen Mary's own guard ', but the mention of different Counties, Glouc etc, together with the 18th Hussars is somewhat confusing me. Were there different divisions within the 18th Hussars depending on which County you where born ? or am I trying to make this more difficult ?
all the best
Pete Rogers
Sudbury Suffolk, Bocking/Braintree Essex, Hendon/Bethnal green Middx.

Offline km1971

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: 18th Hussars
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 14 May 08 17:41 BST (UK) »
Hi Pete

The 18th regiment of cavalry was re-formed in 1858 as Light Dragoons. Apart from Lancers who obviously had a lance, other regiments of cavalry were at the time called Dragoons, - Dragoon Guards, Dragoons and Light Dragoons - and the difference between them was to do with weight – weight of horse and man combined. Dragoon Guards were the elite.

In 1861 the 18th Light Dragoons were re-named Hussars, after the Hungarian Huszar (or Huzar) who wore a dashing uniform. So they were really following a fashion. In 1903 they were renamed the 18th (Princess of Wales’s Own) Hussars when the future George the fifth became Prince of Wales; and in 1910, when he became king, they were renamed the 19th (Queen Mary’s Own) Hussars.

In 1921 they were re-named 18th Royal Hussars (Queen’s Mary’s Own), and in 1923 they merged with the 13th Hussars to form the 13th/18th Hussars.