Author Topic: organising family history.  (Read 4309 times)

Offline blinky

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
organising family history.
« on: Thursday 27 January 05 10:12 GMT (UK) »
im new to family research ,but my paper work and certificates are now out growing their designated drawer,so i must start organising.i was wondering how everybody else does this,how do you file things.do you give family members numbers and file that way.please how do you sort your information? ???
haines and hunt in wiltshire,gloucester,swindon.
neville in gloucestershire.
dixon in wiltshire.

Offline Nick Carver

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: organising family history.
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 27 January 05 10:28 GMT (UK) »
One suggestion - number parents 1&2, grandparents 11-14, gg grandparents 101-108, ggg grandparents 1001-1016. That gives you generational information. If there are too many siblings in your parents' generation, start with 11 & 12 and move others accordingly. Then use other numbers in the same sequence for siblings etc. Keep a note of the numbers (most important). Children of siblings can have a different code e.g. 1013-03. There is no hard and fast way to do it other than to realise that you can get up to a thousand names very easily, so make sure your reference scheme will not be broken as a consequence.

Good luck and make sure you start keeping order at an early stage. Not doing so was my big mistake.
E Yorks - Carver, Steels, Cross, Maltby, Whiting, Moor, Laybourn
W Yorks - Wilkinson, Kershaw, Rawnsley, Shaw
Norfolk - Carver, Dowson
Cheshire - Berry, Cooper
Lincs - Berry
London/Ireland/Scotland/Lincs - Sullivan
Northumberland/Durham - Nicholson, Cuthbert, Turner, Robertson
Berks - May
Beds - Brownell

Offline jax

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Thursday 27 January 05 12:14 GMT (UK) »
mine too was becoming a mess...

I bought ring binders and have one for each name i am really interested in and researching..