Author Topic: Findlay, Marykirk  (Read 4084 times)

Offline kkbarker

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Findlay, Marykirk
« on: Sunday 11 January 09 16:38 GMT (UK) »
Hi , I am quite new to family history research and am having trouble tracking down my  g, g, grandmother's birth and hope someone out there can maybe help.

I am looking for Elizabeth Findlay ( born 1836/7) daughter of Jean (Jane / Janet) Low and David Findlay - in 1841 they are all living in Thornybush, Marykirk (along with 3 older siblings whose births I have found in Logie Pert and Fordoun) and another younger sister Margaret who also cant find ( there is another brother and sister born by 1851 census who I can't find either although they are all still in Marykirk). I am especially curious because every census I have found her on lists her birth place as some where different although they are only as far apart as Stracathro and Stonehaven...she also gets "younger" as she gets older ( a family trait I have inherited!).

any help gratefully received

kerryb
Forfarshire: Lindsay, Cant  Aberdeen: Barker, Cochrane, Noble

Offline advsmt

• I am sorry but my email address is no longer working
  • RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: Findlay, Marykirk
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 02 June 10 21:52 BST (UK) »
Hi,
      just been looking through the site after not being on for a long while.  The Findlays come down my mothers side of the family and David and Jane Findlay (1941 census living at Thornybank) are in my tree. Elizabeth's older brother David is in my direct line.  I have Jane Low's parents as David Low and Jane Falconer. Davids parents are David (yet another) and Jean (Jane) Milne (Mill) - depending on what you are looking at.

Please drop me an email and we can compare findings.

Bryan

Offline heather bell

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Saturday 21 January 12 00:33 GMT (UK) »