Author Topic: Bevan family in Gower  (Read 11953 times)

Offline normanbev

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Bevan family in Gower
« on: Thursday 22 October 09 16:56 BST (UK) »
Hello I am brand new to Roots.Chat. But I saw a few chats, via Google Oxwich Castle, about the Bevan family in Oxwich, Gower. Ref was made to a Bevan family bible.
I have started tracing my family back from my grandfather Fred Bevan and who served on HMS Defence in 1908 and was born about 1887.
He emmigrated to South Africa about 1915.
I have traced possible family to Oxwich and poss Francis and Mary Bevan were my great grand parents.
I would really appreciate any assistance anyone can give me. ;D
I am happy to pass on the little information I think I have found in my research.
Thanks Normanbev.
Bevan.

Offline Romilly

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Bevan farmily in Gower
« Reply #1 on: Thursday 22 October 09 21:59 BST (UK) »

Hello Normanbev,

And Welcome to Rootschat.

Have you had any success with tracing your Grandfather Fred Bevan's Naval Service? (Could be a good starting point).

Romilly.
Any census information included in this post is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
Researching:
Wilson, Warren, Dulston, Hooper, Duffin, Petty, Rees, Davies, Williams, Newman, Dyer, Hamilton, Edmeads, Pattenden.

Offline armek1

• I am sorry but my email address is no longer working
  • RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
Re: Bevan farmily in Gower
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 27 October 09 14:11 GMT (UK) »
Hi normanbev,

I have Frederick BEVAN (b1886 Oxwich) on my tree as a third cousin to my grandfather. Frederick is one of eleven children born to Francis and Mary BEVAN. I've got quite a lot of information on the BEVANs which I can let you have. Just let me know what you require.

Regards,
Lee.
Morriston - Williams, Thomas
Taibach & Margam - Lucas, Thomas, Griffith(s), David