Author Topic: James and Alison McKnight...COMPLETED!  (Read 3869 times)

Offline mhomac

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
James and Alison McKnight...COMPLETED!
« on: Monday 18 January 10 22:43 GMT (UK) »
Hello, newbie here!
I know that James McKnight and Alison Haining married in 1918 in Dunscore Dumfries and emigrated to Canada in 1926 taking a daughter with them. Their son had died not long after birth. Looking for more information on that family, especially after reaching Canada.
Does anyone know anything......
Thanks
Mhomac
Fraser, McNay, Maxwell, McKnight, Gray, Greenshields

Offline LesleyG

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: James and Alison McKnight
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 19 January 10 01:19 GMT (UK) »
Hi Mhomac,

The family sailed from Glasgow to Halifax on the ship Cameronia. They arrived in Canada on 3 Apr 1926.

James McKnight age 33, Alison McKnight age 34, and Alison McKnight age 5.  All born Dunscore, never in Canada before, passage assisted by government.  James is a farm worker. Destination states 'Land Settlement Association, Calgary, Alberta'.  Nearest relative in Scotland was James' father Mr. John McKnight, Old Manse, Throughgate, Auldgirth, Dumfries.

I'm not sure what records (if any) are publicly available for that time period in Calgary.

Lesley

Offline mhomac

• RootsChat Member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 19 January 10 13:06 GMT (UK) »
Thanks Lesley,
That confirms what I had heard about the family. Any way of finding out what happened to them after they arrived?  An old story is that they had another daughter born in Canada and that either she or Alison married and had twins!
No proof that this happened.
I'd love to know more and add it to the Tree but have no idea where to begin looking.
Best wishes
Mhomac

Offline jorose

• Global Moderator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Tuesday 19 January 10 15:29 GMT (UK) »