Author Topic: Michael Finnigan  (Read 6784 times)

Offline hellywelly

• RootsChat Extra
  • Ernest, John and Ethel Sladen c1925
    • View Profile
Michael Finnigan
« on: Wednesday 03 March 10 19:08 GMT (UK) »
i'm new to family research but keen to locate a Michael Finnigan (approx, born 1945) who possibly went to New York approx. 1871 onwards he was born in County Monaghan Ireland and went to Glasgow approx. 1854 and now i cannot find him on census 1881 in Glasgow.  His father & mother was called Thomas & Catherine Finnigan (nee Casey) had a brother called Patrick (who i'm directly related to) and sister called Margaret (who i cannot find either using census records).  His occupation was recorded as Shoemaker according to 1861 & 1871 census in Glasgow but my understanding we did have relatives in New York as my great-grandfather went to New York in 1920 to work and stayed with cousins etc.   

Would appreciate any ideas to help locate this person
Finnigan, Casey, Quillan, Aitken, Sladen, Borg - Glasgow
Currie, Mckenzie, Low, Fraser, Ross, Louden - Aberdeen
Mckenzie, Campbell - Tain
Sladen - Kent, Wales & British India
Finnigan, Casey - County Monaghan

Online PaulineJ

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Michael Finnigan
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 03 March 10 19:22 GMT (UK) »
1880 us census is free-to-search at www.familysearch.org.

What was "great-grandfather's" name and birth year. Passenger records may show who he was visiting.
All census look up transcriptions are Crown Copyright http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
======================================
We are not a search engine. We are human beings.

Offline *Sandra*

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Marie Curie
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 03 March 10 19:28 GMT (UK) »
www.pilot.familysearch.org could be another alternative for you. Just by putting Finnigan and New York in, it gives a choice of 102 entries - worth a play  ???