Author Topic: The mystery of Harry Rowland Berkeley b1826  (Read 4588 times)

Offline peterbaker

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
The mystery of Harry Rowland Berkeley b1826
« on: Friday 05 March 10 17:22 GMT (UK) »
Harry Rowland BERKELEY was my 2G GF.  I am desperate to know more about his origins and his life. Apologies if I’m missing anything obvious here, but I’m a relative beginner at genealogy.  Main questions based on the records I have found  :

i. No birth or baptism record found and no father on marriage certificate means he may be adopted/illegitimate. If so, is there any way of tracing the parents?
ii. No marriage traced for Henry R BERKELEY and Clara, and possibly they weren’t married. Where can one check to establish whether Harry and Maria divorced?
iii. Are there any records, eg professional bodies, to verify Harry’s  claims to be a dentist, surgeon and professor of chemistry?

This is what I have unearthed. Names are transcribed as on records…………….

Harry Rowland BERKELEY was born sometime between 1825 – 1829, according to various census records and documents. Favourite 1826. I have not been able to trace any record of his birth or baptism, although the majority of records state St Pancras, London, whilst later ones state Islington.

Harry Rowland BERKELEY married Maria TASKER on 6.2.1849 at the Parish Church in Horncastle, Lincolnshire. There is no name for Harry’s father on the marriage cert,  just a dash. Witnesses were Mrs Barton and Mary Ann Wood. Harry’s age was 23,  bachelor, occupation surgeon, living in Horncastle