Author Topic: WW2,Can anyone identify my Dads regiment?  (Read 26703 times)

Offline Guinevere

• RootsChat Extra
  • Save the Earth, its the only planet with chocolate
    • View Profile
WW2,Can anyone identify my Dads regiment?
« on: Tuesday 22 March 05 17:56 GMT (UK) »
I hope these pictures have come up,I'm new at the pics thing.lol.

My Dad was in WW2,and he is in these 2 pictures,the one with
2guys in is i guess on leave,Dad is on left,and he was from portsmouth Hampshire,i think he was a driver/rifleman,but he had a great imagination and told us many things,so as he has passed  away i cant get anymore info,i have tried sending his pics to Army,they cant help,I'm just stumped now,as have no idea where to turn now.He said he never went far during war,isle of wight and local i guess,he never saw action.
The bottom pic,is obviously a photo opportunity with mates,as I'm sure vehicle is u.s.a one,and hope someone may know where they were based  during war.Dad is third from right
The one of Dad in uniform,is a bad pic,but they are only ones that survived,we cant see any cap badges as they are so badly taken.I would implore anyone to help,as im at end of rope trying to trace his regiment,im sure it was in Hampshire somewhere as hes from portsmouth,but he said he was stationed in isle of wight at one time,and i dint know how to find out what regiments were based there at the time.Thankyou so much for reading this,sorry if pics didn't go in,i tried.love Ann(Guinevere)xxxx
DUBBER,in  U.K,all counties,especially Hampshire,but  worldwide interests in all Dubber surnames.
CRITCHLOW,especially from Staffordshire.
SWORN,from Staffordshire areas,and surrounding.
COLLINS.From Hampshire,especially portsmouth and surrounding areas

http://www.communigate.co.uk/hants/dubbersurname/index.phtml

Any-one who thinks sun-shine is happiness,has never danced in the rain!.

Offline deadants

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile