Author Topic: Advent 5421 Slow.  (Read 3624 times)

Offline Tomdanpete

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Advent 5421 Slow.
« on: Tuesday 29 June 10 12:00 BST (UK) »
Hi I have been running a Advent 5421 Laptop for about 2 years and it is now running slow.
Takes about 5 Minutes to load and about the same time to shut down.
Programes also take a time to load.
Running Win Vista,AOL/Internet Explorer/ZoneAlarm/Firefox/Paintshop Pro.
Have tried Defrag/Virus check/Removing unwanted files,no change.
Running on the internet is ok,not sure if there too many programes trying to load,not sure if this is the case how to stop them.
Any help please.
Peter.

Offline km1971

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: Advent 5421 Slow.
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 29 June 10 12:19 BST (UK) »
Hi Peter

Disk Defrag etc will only effect performance once you have switched on, as most system files will be contiguous.

You should look in System Configuration/Startup. Over the years you will have acquired many programs that will run when you switch on. In Vista it is in Control Panel/Admin Tools. You can disable them all at once or one at a time to see if one in particular is causing the delay.

If you have Windows Update set to automatic, the default seems to be 3am, so when you switch on your PC it goes off to Microsoft straight away. If you log on about the same time each day you can set it to one hour after that, and you probably wont notice when it looks for updates.

If your anti-virus includes something like PC Tune Up in Norton 360 you should run things like registry cleaner, to remove broken links.

If that doesn't work trying posting a question on Yahoo Answers.

Ken

Offline Tomdanpete

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 29 June 10 12:24 BST (UK) »
Thanks Ken will give your suggestion's a try.
Peter.

Offline km1971

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile