Author Topic: my family  (Read 8133 times)

Offline katyboo

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
my family
« on: Sunday 01 August 10 01:53 BST (UK) »
 hello to everybody at rootschat.com and my fellow members in sligo i am new to the ite and wondered if there was anybody who could help me i am looking for any information on my grand parents who came from mailcoach road my grandmother was mary ellen mccarthy born around 1886 and lived in ramseys row my grandfather was andrew kerins from mailcoach road i believe he was once in the connaught rangers
kerins mccarthy sligo town mailcoach road ramseys row jinks aveune

Offline Mr J T Arthur

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: my amily
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 01 August 10 09:38 BST (UK) »
The old Mail Coach Road stretched from Sligo Town to Dublin and the last of it was only destroyed a few years ago, therefore it passed through many small towns and townlands in a south easterly direction before entering Roscommon on the way to Boyle so you need to give the location.

Good luck,

J.T.A.

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: my family
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 01 August 10 09:44 BST (UK) »
Welcome to Rootschat. The 1901 (and 1911) census are online (free) and that might be the place to find the townland where your grandparents lived in Sligo.

Here they are in 1911 living at Mail Coach Road (no house number)- they were married 3 years and had lost 2 children.
http://www.census.nationalarchives.ie/pages/1911/Sligo/Sligo_West_Urban/Mail_Coach_Road/770609/
Away sorting out DNA matches... I may be gone for some time many years!

Offline Tu2Tu

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Sunday 01 August 10 22:38 BST (UK) »
Hi Katyboo,

Welcome to roots chat  ;D