Author Topic: Monaghan emigrants in shipwreck  (Read 2855 times)

Offline ebt47

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Monaghan emigrants in shipwreck
« on: Tuesday 09 November 10 21:31 GMT (UK) »
I am trying to see if other researchers of Monaghan families have had ancestors involved in shipwrecks?  I am researching a family, Edward and Emily Fagan, farmers of Milltown, Ematris Parish, Co. Monaghan circa 1840.  According to family stories they emigrated to the USA and were lost in a shipwreck.  They had left a daughter behind, the ancestor I am studying.  They will not have been alone on the ship and perhaps other people have researched people with a similar background.  The shipwreck must have occurred between 1845 and perhaps 1858.  One good candidate was the burning of the Ocean Monarch in 1848, but their names were not in the passenger lists reported in the newspapers of the day.

Offline hallmark

• ~
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Monaghan emigrants in shipwreck
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 10 November 10 11:13 GMT (UK) »
Yes, had one from Ematris but shipwrecked on way to England, she was picked up two days later floating on flotsom. . I have births etc afterwards in UK so haven't chased shipwreck up. Unfortunately don't know name of ship or year but around same time! Possibly the RNLI might have records??

I'm just back from visiting Ematris where I got the church records and photographed the g/stones, no Fagan stones. The problem is that there are a few churches within the area that they could have attended.

*Moderator's Note: image removed as it was stretching the page and didn't add anything constructive to the topic
Give a man a record and you feed him for a day.
Teach a man to research, and you feed him for a lifetime.

Offline ebt47

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 10 November 10 12:32 GMT (UK) »