Author Topic: Just beginning search of Scott family, Rev'ds Co Down  (Read 10344 times)

Offline *Di*

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Just beginning search of Scott family, Rev'ds Co Down
« on: Tuesday 23 November 10 22:27 GMT (UK) »
Hello, great to find this site.... I am a complete beginner with much to learn.. my husbands Grandfather who we had no knowledge of really was Rev'd JHH Scott, who was the rector in Ardkeen untiil his passing in 1930.. his eldest son AW Scott was Rev'd at Arvagh until his passing in 1977  We have little information, though thanks to a kind person from local village site in Ardkeen sending me a Church History book I now have some dates and photographs of JHH Scott, the Church and rectory etc.. I wonder how hard/easy it is to obtain birth/death/marriage certificates of Irish ancestors?.... Look forward to learning as much as possible, for future generations of Scott's..    :)

Offline aghadowey

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Just beginning search of Scott family, Rev'ds Co Down
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 23 November 10 23:31 GMT (UK) »
There's an Arvagh in Co. Cavan- is this the one you mention?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arvagh

Church at Ardkeen, Co. Down mentioned here-
http://www.historyfromheadstones.com/index.php?displaygraveyardinfo&graveyard_name=Ardkeen

If you haven't done any Irish research yet have a look at Introduction to Irish Records to get an idea of what might be available and how to find materials-
www.rootschat.com/forum/index.php/topic,442233.0.html

You haven't given us any dates so it's difficult to give exact information.
Away sorting out DNA matches... I may be gone for some time many years!

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 24 November 10 09:43 GMT (UK) »