Author Topic: I am new at this...  (Read 6183 times)

Offline Carole in Dallas

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • Life is evanescent but love eternal.
    • View Profile
I am new at this...
« on: Sunday 05 December 10 21:39 GMT (UK) »
I have started doing research into my English Lines...and have found books of Heraldry that have my relatives in them.  Some of the families included the Wylde family from Worcester, the Tracy family from Stanway, the Barrow family from Wedmore.  Viscount Robert Tracy II was a direct line of mine and I am still discovering other members on googlebooks. 

How did a coat of arms get passed down...if you were a woman in this line, did you lose your family coat...and how is a crest different from a coat of arms?
Wylde, Barrow, Andrews, Tracy, Tracey, Cocks, Dowdeswell, Roland, Steyner, Fewtrell, Gambuti, Nurmi, Haring, Requa, Blauvelt, Smith, Shirley, Kemp, Withey, Requa, Snider, Blauvelt, Sherwood, Yeury, Blaunch, Bell, Graham, Smith, Riker, Everetts, Bogaert, Everts, Evertse, Glaes, Laurens, Boogaertman, Cozyns

Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline Little Nell

• Global Moderator
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: I am new at this...
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 05 December 10 22:02 GMT (UK) »
A full coat of arms is a shield plus the crest which is on top of the shield.  The whole thing is known as an achievement of arms.  A crest can be displayed on its own, but to have a crest, there must also be a shield.