Author Topic: where do I start with my family history?  (Read 2846 times)

Offline robbiedog

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
where do I start with my family history?
« on: Wednesday 22 June 11 20:21 BST (UK) »
Hello
I am new to all this but would like to start to research my family history?
What do I need to do to get going?
Thank you

Offline BridgetM

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: where do I start with my family history?
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 22 June 11 20:37 BST (UK) »
The first thing I did was talk to my father, who's now 81. 

Offline robbiedog

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 22 June 11 20:42 BST (UK) »
Thanks for your reply.
Not really an option as he has been gone for 75 years!
But appreciate you replying anyway.

Offline groom

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Me aged 3. Tidied up thanks to Wiggy.
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Wednesday 22 June 11 20:46 BST (UK) »
Hi welcome to Rootschat.

Bridget is right, talk to as many family members as you can before it is too late. The cry of most genealogists is, "If only I'd asked...."

You need to start with what you know and work backwards. Your birth certificate will give your parents' names,their marriage certificate will give both of their fathers' names and then gradually work backwards until you get to before 1911. Then you can start using the censuses. You can find birth, marriages and death information on

http://www.freebmd.org.uk/

Ask as much as you like on here, everyone is friendly and will help. Dont post the names of anyone who might still be living though, and we can't post anything from the 1911 census.

Jan
Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline stanmapstone

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: Wednesday 22 June 11 21:12 BST (UK) »