Author Topic: John Smyth, Dublin, born 25/4/1882  (Read 7702 times)

Offline alexb123

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
John Smyth, Dublin, born 25/4/1882
« on: Sunday 24 July 11 19:47 BST (UK) »
I'm new to this, and don't really know where to start.

I'm looking for any information on John Smyth, son of Peter and brother of Patrick. I have very little information, he may have worked as a barber, and later on the railway. He may have spent some time in Dan Laoghaire, but had left Ireland by 1911.

I am looking for any birth information, he was a roman catholic, or any information on his parents or siblings.

Any help or information would be much appreciated. :)

Offline shanew147

• RootsChat Honorary
  • RootsChat Marquessate
  • Dublin, Ireland
    • View Profile
Re: John Smyth, Dublin, born 25/4/1882
« Reply #1 on: Sunday 24 July 11 19:51 BST (UK) »
Another detail that might be useful would be his father's occupation. This is generally shown on marriage certs. Do you know who/where/when he married ?

Any idea of what part of Dublin John was born ? .. i.e. City, Suburbs, north or south county......

Shane
Remember to check the Resource boards :  Ireland, Dublin, Antrim & Cork (and stickies at the top of other county sub-forums)    
My Surname Interests

Offline alexb123

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Sunday 24 July 11 20:32 BST (UK) »
John was married in England in 1916, the marriage certificate says that his father Peter Smyth had been a Railway Foreman, but it also says that Peter Smyth was deceased in 1916.

I don't know where they lived in Dublin, except that Peter married again, after John's mother died, and John and Patrick did not live with the second family.

The only other thing I know is that he was a member of the Archconfraternity of the Holy Family in Dublin.

Offline alexb123

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile