Author Topic: Finding an address...  (Read 1330 times)

Offline mtash

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Finding an address...
« on: Wednesday 16 November 11 15:51 GMT (UK) »
Hi everyone. I'm very new to this so apologies if this is a really basic question! I've recently found out that I currently live in the same town as my grandad was born (Chorlton in Manchester). I'd love to find out where he lived so I can go and have a look (would be funny if we lived really close). I found his birth record on Genes Reunited, but all this gives me is his mothers surname and Volume and Page (not sure what the latter 2 refer to).

How can I find out an address?

Many thanks in advance

Offline TomRees

• -
  • RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Finding an address...
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 16 November 11 16:00 GMT (UK) »
Using the info provided on District, Volume and Page you can get a copy of his Birth Cert (and address etc) online @  http://www.gro.gov.uk/gro/content/certificates/

You might also find him in a later census - but of course, no guarantee he was at his Birth address ...

Offline gortonboy

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Gorton
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 16 November 11 16:00 GMT (UK) »
hi,,the volume and page number are what you need if you wanted to order his birth certificate.The birth cert would give the address of the parents at the time of his birth.
MCHUGH {mayo/manchester}   OHora,MCHALE{mayo/manchester /chicago}  KENNY{Manchester}   TIMPERLEY{wilmslow-bollin fee,Manchester} SMITH{manchester}  LEE{Colne,manchester,Cheshire} VENABLES {Styal.Cheshire} PAYTON {Staffs/Manchester}McCARTHY{TIPPERARY/MANCHESTER}  EAMES/AMS/HEAMES/HAMES/AYMES {Wilmslow/Manchester} Eames/Aymes  {Ireland/Manchester/Cheshire
Census information is Crown Copyright www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Offline mtash

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile