Author Topic: well digging - water- Australia  (Read 1149 times)

Offline little meg

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
well digging - water- Australia
« on: Tuesday 22 November 11 09:54 GMT (UK) »
Hi all,
not sure where to put this, but I have an ancestor digging a well for water in 1865, Deniliquin, Australia.
Any ideas as to what would have been involved?

I have done some googling and got some basic stuff, ie bucket, tripod, rope etc.
He was a blacksmith by trade, would he have had a special implement for the digging - ie hand auger.
What would they have lined the well with, if anything?

The info I have and wish to build up on is this - from Pastoral Times - june 1865

Accident - As Joseph Simpson junior was engaged in deepening a well in Deniliquin the other day the rope attached to a bucket of mullock gave way, and the bucket fell some  twenty feet on to the poor fellow's back.  His uncle in going down to his assistance inadvertently made matters worse by his weight again breaking the rope when he was near the bottom, and he fell on to is nephew.  Fortunately a broken rib was the worst injury sustained by young Joe, whilst the uncle happily escaped unhurt.

As you can see, a fun story to add to my book but just want more info so I know what I am talking about.

Any help welcome,
cheers
Margaret
Simpson-Kildwick,Yorkshire & Australia, Overend-Sutton, Kildwick,Yorkshire & Australia, Whitaker - Cononley/Yorkshire, Pickard - Silsden/Yorkshire, Howarth - Skipton/Yorkshire and Lancashire, Heaton-Yorkshire, Preston-Yorkshire, Myers-Yorkshire & Australia, Wild-Yorkshire & Australia. Storey-Middlesex/Australia

Offline t mo

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: well digging - water- Australia
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 22 November 11 13:22 GMT (UK) »
hi margaret