Author Topic: CAMPBELLS IN KILLIN PARISH?  (Read 12171 times)

Offline lnroberts

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
CAMPBELLS IN KILLIN PARISH?
« on: Tuesday 10 April 12 04:57 BST (UK) »
I'm new to this - so bear with me - but I'm a USA researcher in California attempting to find out something about my 3rd great grandfather Duncan Campbell (b. 1768- d. 1850) who came to the States in about 1795 with his wife Christian (or Christiana) and very young daughter Catharine and perhaps one son.  I have been very unsuccessful in discovering his Scottish origins - not even in his naturalization papers in 1839 in Ohio.  Haven't been able to locate any passenger lists.  Too early.  I have been corresponding with the National Archives - sent them all of my research and they have told me that they have no records that will help.  I have spent hours - and pounds - plowing through the OPRs on scotlandspeople.gov - nothing looks specifically right, but I'm starting to think that Killin Parish looks like a likely place to inquire because of a similarity of names - nothing else.  I'm assuming that he came over because of the clearances.  Duncan was a farmer - did nothing else the whole time he was here - except to be the first Constable of Licking County, Ohio in 1814 when they were opening up that state.  If anyone can give me any suggestions as to places or sites for research, I'd really appreciate it.  Also - if anyone knows anything about the Campbells during that time period, that would also be helpful.  Thanks so much.
Lynne

Offline bleckie

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: CAMPBELLS IN KILLIN PARISH?
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 10 April 12 07:38 BST (UK) »
Hi

You could try posting on this site also

http://www.killin.co.uk/gossip/forumdisplay.php/5-Family-History

Yours Aye
BruceL

Offline lnroberts

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 10 April 12 21:06 BST (UK) »