Author Topic: John Davies Wakerley Parish records  (Read 2163 times)

Offline Moondog

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
John Davies Wakerley Parish records
« on: Monday 16 April 12 20:15 BST (UK) »
Good evening everyone.

I'm really pleased to have found your online community here - so much expertise and generosity.

I wonder if anyone can help me fill in a blank? I have been bulding my family tree on and off for the last two years, following the Davies line back as far as I can. I now know, via census and BDM records, that my family originate from Northhamptonshire. My great, great, great grandfather was John Davies, born in Wakerley in approx 1787,dying in October 1867. (1841 census says 'born about 1791 in foreign parts', but 1851 and 1861 both confirm Wakerley, with birth dates of 'about 1789' and 'about 1787' respectively.) His wife was Sarah Davies and one of his sons was John T Davies, my great, great, grandfather.

We would love to trace the family back further and if possible find out a little more about their lives; I live near Portmouth, and although a visit is planned, have two young children, so have been putting this off for a while. Anyone who would like access to my Davies tree online is very welcome.

Thank you,

Paul Davies

Offline Moondog

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Re: John Davies Wakerley Parish records
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 17 April 12 14:14 BST (UK) »
As a newbie to this site I have also posted this message over on the Nottinghamshire board - apologies, as I now realise Wakerley is in Northamptonshire. Paul ;)

Offline southistle

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Tuesday 17 April 12 17:48 BST (UK) »
From the Baptism, Marriage and Burial Index CDs

Thomas and Hannah DAVIS baptised two children in Wakerley

Sarah 25th June 1786
John 18th Jan 1789

Thomas DAVIS and Hannah MILLS both of Wakerley married there 10th August 1783