Author Topic: Fowler's in Ireland/Wigtownshire (Scotland)? Help!!!  (Read 3479 times)

Offline Chloemacks

• I am sorry but my email address is no longer working
  • RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
Fowler's in Ireland/Wigtownshire (Scotland)? Help!!!
« on: Friday 28 December 12 20:00 GMT (UK) »
Hi everyone,

I'm really stuck... I've been doing my tree for a few months and am tracing my own maiden name (Fowler). I have traced it back to Wigtownshire in Scotland where I have found:

Alexander Fowler (B. 1813 in Stoneykirk, Wigtownshire) married Margaret Skimming (B 1813 in Wigtownshire)

His father is a William Fowler, B. 1788 in Bengon (Bangor I think), Ireland.

I am now completely stuck!!!

Any help at all would be much appreciated! Thank you in advance  :)

Offline AMBLY

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Fowler's in Ireland/Wigtownshire (Scotland)? Help!!!
« Reply #1 on: Friday 28 December 12 21:03 GMT (UK) »
Hi Chloemacks

To help us help you better, what specifically are you stuck on?  For example, Have you the actual marriage record & Census for Alexander & his wife & children?  Do you see his father in any Census or know when he died? What was Alexander's mother's name (from Alexander's post-1855 death record)?

Cheers
AMBLY
Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

"Now that we're all here, I'm not sure if we're all there...."

Entre los individuos, como entre las naciones, el respeto al derecho ajeno es la paz
 Among individuals, as among nations, respect for the rights of others is peace
    ~Benito Juarez (1806-1872)

Offline Chloemacks

• RootsChat Extra
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 28 December 12 21:37 GMT (UK) »
Thanks for your reply  :)

I actually couldn't find a birth record for Alexander Fowler...