Author Topic: Birth Certificate Lemberg Austria  (Read 4006 times)

Offline PhotoTracy

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Birth Certificate Lemberg Austria
« on: Sunday 16 August 15 14:56 BST (UK) »
Hi everyone, newbie here!
I've been trying to find a birth certificate for my GGgrandfather for a long time now with no luck.

His name is Heinrich Simon Issumer Hersh Karp.
He was born on January 12, 1857 in Lemberg, Hartberg Furstenfeld Styria Austria. And man, that's a mouth full! So I'm honestly confused as to exactly where to write? I've tried Familysearch.org to no avail. I've even tried getting his death certificate from the IKG as he died in Vienna, thinking I could work backwards off of that, but no luck there either?
Does anyone have a link to where I might inquire?

Beyond that, I'm happy to get to know everyone and learn from you along the way.
Kind regards,
Tracy

Offline AMBLY

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Birth Certificate Lemberg Austria
« Reply #1 on: Monday 17 August 15 10:14 BST (UK) »
Hi Tracy,

A warm welcome to Rootschat!   ;D

I can see you've been searching a while.  It's important to know the following:
http://boards.ancestry.com/localities.ceeurope.austria.Prov.vienna/2378.1/mb.ashx
  • He was Jewish so the records may be held by a synagogue or church
  • Believed born in Lemberg, Austria.
  • A chance he lived in Lviv, Ukraine.
  • Parents possible:  Isak KARP & wife Feige, nee Berger

Also to know that Lemberg  is the same place also known as Lviv  (or Lvov and Lwow)  and that the borders and sovereignty of Lemberg/Lviv changed over years, wars, etc.
https://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lwiw

So, I found this site:
http://search.geshergalicia.org/

Search for:   Isak Karp

A number of children for Isak and wife Feige Berger, including  a son called Isumer Hersh, birth registered in Lviv, 1857.