Author Topic: Cannot find proof of Marriage, does that mean there was not one?  (Read 2477 times)

Offline ShaCollins24

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Cannot find proof of Marriage, does that mean there was not one?
« on: Wednesday 11 November 15 06:38 GMT (UK) »
Hello

I have struggled with this for a month now. I am not a professional genealogist just a hobbyist that I work on from time to time. So unsure what to do when you are unable to find proof of a marriage.

The couple I am researching lived in Hammersmith, Middlesex. Born in the same locale. So can only assume they would have married in the same area. Although I have searched further afield. According to the 1911 census they would have married abt 1901. I have searched just about every marriage registration index on-line but to no luck.

So my question, does this mean there wasn't one or does it just mean I cannot locate the couple in the index?

Any thoughts much appreciated as I feel this is holding up my research.

All the best
Sharon

PS hope this has been posted in the correct place.
Researching: Collins-Hertfordshire, Chiswick and London areas; Johnson and Egan in Hammersmith; Gurney - Brentford; Goodhew - Essex.

Offline majm

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • NSW 1806 Bowman Flag Ecce signum.
    • View Profile
Re: Cannot find proof of Marriage, does that mean there was not one?
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 11 November 15 07:16 GMT (UK) »
Hi there,

No, it does not mean there was no marriage.   

Could be errors in the index
Could be you are not looking widely enough
Could be they married much later than the info they recorded on the census
Could be they married in a different country
Could be you are being too precise in your spelling of the surnames and/or given names

Or  perhaps they did not enter into a formal marriage

If you were to post the names I am sure there will be RChatters willing to help search further.