Author Topic: where to start?  (Read 769 times)

Offline ali607

• RootsChat Veteran
  • GG Grandad John Collier 'The Contratenor Singer'
    • View Profile
where to start?
« on: Monday 26 November 18 21:49 GMT (UK) »
Hi everyone,

I am a returning researcher after 12 years away from it!

I have a strong desire to finish one piece of the jigsaw (see my post on London board!)

I have a strong hunch that my grandad who was illegitemate was born to a foreign dad - it was the end of the WW1 and many people over the years have commented that both my dad and I have a non British look about us. I would like to do a DNA test to see if I can get any clues as to where my heritage lies abroad. I could be totally barking up the wrong tree here...but I have a strong suspicion towards Eastern Europe/Russia OR Japan but probably the former. I have tried to research this online but it's a minefield. Has anyone got any ideas where to start.

I am female and the only offspring of my dad. My dad is dead. My dad's half brother and sister are alive (although their own dad was Hungarian!!) I have a baby son - don't know if that helps? But HIS dad is 1/4 Czech!

Can someone please point me in the right direction on what kind of test I need - I would like a pointer to a country if possible??

Any ideas welcome!

Many thanks

Alison xxx
Surname interests:<br />Salter, Fulford, Woodcock, Finney, Tissington, Driscoll, Shea, Maxfield, Collier, Hughes, Williams, Petty, Pearson, Prescott, Baldwin, <br /><br />Area interests:<br />West Riding Yorkshire: Rotherham, Hemsworth, Darfield, Sheffield<br />Worcestershire/Staffordshire: Oldbury, West Bromwich, Halesowen, White Heath<br />Lancashire: Wigan, Aspull, <br />Nottinghamshire: Worksop<br />erbyshire:alfreton, ironville, codnor

Offline Ruskie

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Re: where to start?
« Reply #1 on: Monday 26 November 18 22:20 GMT (UK) »