Author Topic: Surprised at differences in DNA Matches between siblings  (Read 2087 times)

Offline jillruss

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Poppy
    • View Profile
Surprised at differences in DNA Matches between siblings
« on: Saturday 12 January 19 13:15 GMT (UK) »
I know I shouldn't be surprised, but I am!

Just got the matches through for the DNA test I got my older brother to do (managed by me). Yes, there are many matches akin to mine but there are so many new ( to me) names on his list - even in the 'high prediction' of 4-6 cousin - that, quite frankly, if it wasn't that I'm his top match and our niece is his second top match, I'd be questioning his parentage!!

Of course, I knew about the roughly 50% of mother's and 50% of father's DNA inheritance thing, and I suppose, theoretically, its almost possible for us not to have any of the same DNA, but I'm still very surprised. I've been delving into my own matches for about 9 months now so am pretty au fait with most of the names, but I've never heard of a lot of my brother's 'good 4-6' matches.

This is good news, of course, for me trying to find 'new' cousins but - and I know I keep saying (typing?) this - its still a shock! e.g. one of my 'good' and established matches at 28.3 cMs is only showing as a 13.8cMs match on my brother's list. There are lots of other such examples.

I bought another kit in Ancestry's Boxing Day sale and am persuading another brother to do the test. This is becoming addictive!

Jill
HELP!!!

BATHSHEBA BOOTHROYD bn c. 1802 W. Yorks.

Baptism nowhere to be found. Possibly in a nonconformist church near ALMONDBURY or HUDDERSFIELD.

Offline sugarfizzle

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Re: Surprised at differences in DNA Matches between siblings
« Reply #1 on: Saturday 12 January 19 17:01 GMT (UK) »

Jill, Just goes to show the differences. Neither of my brothers are interested in DNA testing - they might if I paid for it.