Author Topic: James Lyons of West Bromwich, Staffordshire  (Read 735 times)

Offline what0101

• RootsChat Member
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
James Lyons of West Bromwich, Staffordshire
« on: Monday 18 February 19 19:55 GMT (UK) »
I'm researching my third great grandfather James Lyons and I was hoping a more experienced researcher might have a look at this and see if I'm missing anything obvious. This is my first time with English records, so I am not sure if there are other places I should be looking.

Here's what I know:
James Lyons (in some early records it is Loynes)
Born in Ireland between 1822 and 1835 (different age on every census)
Catholic
married to Elizabeth Woodhall Simcox, a widow, marriage took place between 1856 and 1861

daughter Ellen Agnes Head b. 1861 of West Bromwich, he does not appear on her family records
son Thomas Joseph Lyons b. 1859 in West Bromwich, emigrated to Pittsburgh, PA
son John Hubert Lyons b. 1867 in West Bromwich, married Martha Jane Smith in Aston in 1894 and I can't find him after that

Records I have:
1861, 1871, 1881, and 1891 census
wife Elizabeth Woodhall's 1891 death record from GRO
Catholic records for his children's births and baptisms

I've also ordered an 1858 civil wedding record from GRO that I *think* are James and Elizabeth. I can't find a religious marriage for them, but I know that James was Catholic and Elizabeth was Church of England.

I know that James was alive in 1891 when his wife died, but I can't find any record of him after that, and I'm not sure where to look now. It's possible that he emigrated to the US as well, but I can't find any solid evidence of that. It's such a common name that I'm wary of attaching a record to him that is not correct.

Any suggestions would be appreciated--I'd love to find out where in Ireland he is from and who his parents were, but not sure if that's possible.

Offline Willow 4873

• RootsChat Marquessate