Author Topic: Murdochs in Colvend and Dalbeattie  (Read 2651 times)

Offline memchchNZ

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Murdochs in Colvend and Dalbeattie
« on: Tuesday 04 June 19 07:08 BST (UK) »
I have been researching Murdoch family history for more than thirty years , most recently in Colvend and Dalbeattie. I am now living in New Zealand (aged 82) and am having one last attempt to solve the problem of a missing Alexander Murdoch born in Scotland circa 1835. My earliest record of him is in Marylebone, London in 1858 on the birth certificate of his first child, also Alexander, and his occupation is 'baker'.
I have records of every census since then of his wife with their children but Alexander seems to vanish into thin air between 1861 and 1871 census records when his family are in Newcastle with their mother Charlotte. I have spent many years searching deaths, emigration, convict and census records for his whereabouts to no avail.

One clue gave hope and led me to another Alexander Murdoch who was a 'baker'. His birth was in Colvend parish records in 1830 but I have so far been unable to prove or disprove that he is the Alexander I am looking for. His mother is Ann Coupland and his occupation in the 1851 census is 'baker'. His father is Charles Murdoch, a captain who dies 4 months before his second son's birth, his first son being Charles Donaldson Murdoch (born 1826) who became a captain and was lost at sea.

I have checked census, marriage/death certificates for this Alexander in Scottish civil and church records without success in an attempt to link or disprove a link between the two 'bakers'.

Can anyone please suggest a possible way forward or know of any records which I have not yet checked?

Online CaroleW

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Barney 1993-2004
    • View Profile
Re: Murdochs in Colvend and Dalbeattie
« Reply #1 on: Tuesday 04 June 19 18:50 BST (UK) »
Welcome to Rootschat