Author Topic: Seeking Henderson Family  (Read 2248 times)

Offline Southvancouver

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Seeking Henderson Family
« on: Friday 02 August 19 06:06 BST (UK) »
I have been given a number of documents and photographs relating to a Henderson couple who immigrated to Canada in 1922, leaving behind a number of relatives in Scotland.  There are no living descendants of the 1922 immigrants.  I would like to find cousins who would be interested in having the materials which I am holding.  The immigrant couple were William J. Henderson born 8 December 1889, died 8 February 1974 and his wife born Agnes Winning Ross on 5 August 1896, died 31 August 1982.  The both died in Vancouver, British Columbia.  I have the names of both their parents and 1944 & 1945 letters from a Dick Henderson, apparently a nephew, mentioning a number of family members.  I have no experience doing Scottish family history research and am at a loss as to how to proceed.

Offline Wendy2305

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
Re: Seeking Henderson Family
« Reply #1 on: Friday 02 August 19 07:22 BST (UK) »
Hi Scotlands People is the only website which holds the original Scottish records you would need to register it is free to search but pay to view the records
I did a quick search and found Agnes birth in Hutchesontown and a William Jack born in Elgin They married in 1920 in Blythswood and William is William John

Offline higgsy

• RootsChat Senior
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Friday 02 August 19 07:42 BST (UK) »
Just for information a Tree on Ancestry has William Jack Henderson born Elgin  1899 dying in Elgin in 1974 so William Jack may  not be the correct William J Henderson. ......of course that tree may be incorrect ....just a word of caution

Offline Wendy2305

• RootsChat Veteran
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Friday 02 August 19 07:58 BST (UK) »