Author Topic: Marriage Banns circa 1850s-60s  (Read 2158 times)

Offline LinJM

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Marriage Banns circa 1850s-60s
« on: Wednesday 14 August 19 21:02 BST (UK) »
Hi,
As an American researcher I am a bit confused about what I am seeing in church "marriage banns" entries in the 1850-60s period  (families are in Leitrim). After the couple are usually two names; are they "witnesses"/ sponsors as on a marriage record? Or are they parents? (Sometimes I see two male names, sometimes two people with a same surname, sometimes people with surnames different from those of the couple)  What can I assume about them, if anything?

Thanks for help on this!

Offline Elwyn Soutter

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: Marriage Banns circa 1850s-60s
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 14 August 19 21:12 BST (UK) »
For a marriage to be valid there had to be 2 witnesses. They could be anyone, friends, parents, siblings etc. They didn’t have to be adult, though churches preferred it if you were.
Elwyn

Offline Maiden Stone

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Wednesday 14 August 19 22:50 BST (UK) »
Would you provide a link or a transcription, or at least tell us who was intending to marry + date, church, place and religious denomination?  It's difficult to offer an opinion without knowing what you're looking at.
Are you sure it's banns you're looking at or the actual marriage in the marriage register?
Btw knowing religious denomination is crucial as the marriage law for Catholics was different to marriage law for Protestants in Ireland at the time.
Cowban

Offline hallmark

• ~
  • RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Wednesday 14 August 19 22:52 BST (UK) »
the greater number of the Irish population, of all faiths, announced their impending marriage by Banns.