Author Topic: WDYTYA has a lot to answer for  (Read 4258 times)

Offline ChrissieL

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Ben and John Hardman meeting up in Cairo
    • View Profile
WDYTYA has a lot to answer for
« on: Monday 07 October 19 08:44 BST (UK) »
My sister-in-law lives in Australia and she knows I have an Ancestry subscription. I had an email from her this week and in it she said '.....my friend would like to trace her family tree. Her grandfather was born in Stoke on Trent in 1895. Could you pop his name into Ancestry and get his family tree!
She asked this in all innocence, but I think when people watch these family history programs they do think it's as simple as typing in a name.  I love WDYTYA  but maybe a little more emphasis should be made of the work involved
By the way, his name was Smith  ;D

Staffordshire: Lawton Probyn Horrobin
Durham: Bamlett Hardman Winship Robinson
Suffolk: Leggett

Offline Treetotal

• RootsChat Marquessate
    • View Profile
Re: WDYTYA has a lot to answer for
« Reply #1 on: Monday 07 October 19 09:00 BST (UK) »
That's hilarious  ;D If only it was that simple!
Carol
CAPES Hull. KIRK  Leeds, Hull. JONES  Wales,  Lancashire. CARROLL Ireland, Lancashire, U.S.A. BROUGHTON Leicester, Goole, Hull BORRILL  Lincolnshire, Durham, Hull. GROOM  Wishbech, Hull. ANTHONY St. John's Nfld. BUCKNALL Lincolnshire, Hull. BUTT Harbour Grace, Newfoundland. PARSONS  Western Bay, Newfoundland. MONAGHAN  Ireland, U.S.A. PERRY Cheshire, Liverpool.

RESTORERS:PLEASE DO NOT USE MY RESTORES WITHOUT PRIOR PERMISSION - THANK YOU

Offline Ayashi

• RootsChat Aristocrat
  • William Wood, who was your mother??
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: Monday 07 October 19 09:20 BST (UK) »
One of my all time favourite new threads on Rootschat:
Subject: Grandfather
Body text: Who were his parents?

Offline ChrissieL

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Ben and John Hardman meeting up in Cairo
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: Monday 07 October 19 10:11 BST (UK) »