Author Topic: Abbott’s of Longford  (Read 2781 times)

Offline FLUFFY1234

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Abbott’s of Longford
« on: Friday 26 June 20 15:48 BST (UK) »
Mary Jane Heuston 1850-1930 my great grand aunt married John Abbott 1845-1936.
They had 12 children I have very little knowledge of many of the children.
Eliza born 1872-? she emigrated to America in 1901..  George 1874-1956 he went to Dublin
Fanny 1876-?... John James 1878-1943 ... William 1883-1883... Catherine 1884-?
Robert Henry 1885-1934 he died in America.... James 1888-?.... William 1889 -? He went to Dublin and worked for Guinness Brewery.
Thomas 1891-1951 he married Georgina Foster ... Arthur 1893-1945 he went to Dublin and also worked for Guinness Brewery married Catherine Lawrence.... Edward 1895-?

I could only find 2 marriages and still unsure of the deaths of several.
All were born around Drumdreg Co. Longford.
I found some of the family on both 1901 and 1911 Census. I obtained most of the information I have from Irish Genealogy.
The family were Church of Ireland.
Any assistance on where to look would be of great help.
Thank you.
Heuston,Wright, Murtagh, Moore, Bennett.Co.Longford.Byrne Co.Wexford.Devine Dublin.Hamilton, Cue,Good. Co. Cork

Offline MEW53

• RootsChat Member
  • My Mum & Dad - George & May Veighey
    • View Profile
Re: Abbott’s of Longford
« Reply #1 on: Friday 26 June 20 16:18 BST (UK) »
Hi,
My family came from Killeshandra, Co Cavan near Longford.
When I saw the posts about the Abbotts I remember my Dad used to talk about the Abbotts especially John and Dickie Abbott. I met some of the Abbotts on holidays to Ireland in my youth.
My Dad was Church of Ireland too. The family were always talked about in a lovely way.
If I can think of anything significant I’ll let you know good luck in your quest.