Author Topic: Beginner looking for some help for my Fraser Ancestors  (Read 2534 times)

Offline HannahB92

• RootsChat Extra
  • https://literaturetravelhistory.wordpress.com/
    • View Profile
Beginner looking for some help for my Fraser Ancestors
« on: Wednesday 18 November 20 09:37 GMT (UK) »
Hi everyone,

I am hoping that you all may be able to help me. I am a beginner and have had wonderful help from the forum before so i thought i would ask for help again. When researching my mother's family i have come across some Scottish heritage that i am not able to find complete information for and unfortunately a lot of them have the same name! Here is what i have so far:

My 2nd great-grandfather, Walter Gibson Fraser, was born in Glasgow on 22nd April 1864.
He married Ellen Mary Frizzell sometime in Ireland in 1891.
They had i believe 7 children? (Thomas, Mary Hamilton, Walter G, Alexander Frizzell, Henry, Annie and Norman) - i have not been able to find any complete records confirming the children and only have census records to go from.
Mary Hamilton is my Great Grandmother and was actually born in Ireland. I had thought she was Irish but her family all originate from Scotland.
I believe Thomas Fraser may have gone into the army and died there in 1915 but have no records to confirm it is the same Thomas Fraser.
Walter may have died in Belfast but i cannot trace a death certificate for him.

Walter's father was William Fraser who was born sometime around 1841 in Wigtownshire? (again, cannot find a definitive record to confirm date of birth)
He married Mary Hamilton on 2 Feb 1864. She must have already been pregnant at this time as Walter Gibson was born in April of 1864.
It looks like William & Mary had 6 children? (Walter Gibson (man above), Mary Jane Hamilton, Marjory Hamilton, Margaret, Jessie and William)
I cannot find a definitive date of death for him.