Author Topic: LOVATT Sheffield area late 1800s onwards  (Read 468 times)

Offline jgosling

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
LOVATT Sheffield area late 1800s onwards
« on: Tuesday 23 February 21 23:57 GMT (UK) »
Hi,

I'm just getting started on my family tree, but have come across a missing piece in the jigsaw that no-one really knows anything about because in the old days people didn't talk about things!

My great grandfather George LOVATT (born c.1868) married/got together with a Clara SMART (first married name)/GLADWIN (Maiden name) who was born around 1880.  I can't work out what happened to her first husband Joseph SMART (they were born and bred in Eckington, Derbyshire) that she ended up marrying George.  George and Clara must have come together between 1906-1910 as Clara had two children from her first marriage, and then they had two girls called Nellie and Annie in 1910 and 1912 before then moving to Greater Manchester and having three more children.  One of their children (my Grandad) apparently took my Dad to see some step-siblings in Sheffield around 1970 ish, so we believe George Lovatt had also been married before.  The only other clue we have is that one of these step-siblings had a dance & drama school in Sheffield that used to perform at the City Hall.  That's all the info we have, can't find any marriage certificate for George and Clara, and the two possible birth certificates for a George LOVATT are Stoke on Trent and Newcastle Under Lyme, which may or may not be him.  We're stumped.  There's hardly anyone left on that side of the family that we know that we can ask.  Any help gratefully received!

Offline maddys52

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • Census information is Crown Copyright http://www.
    • View Profile
Re: LOVATT Sheffield area late 1800s onwards
« Reply #1 on: Wednesday 24 February 21 02:17 GMT (UK) »
Hello jgosling and welcome to RootsChat.