Author Topic: Advice Please!  (Read 960 times)

Offline Janethepain

• RootsChat Senior
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.natio
    • View Profile
Advice Please!
« on: Saturday 15 May 21 15:28 BST (UK) »
I have been doing family history research for coming up to 15 years, seriously since 2009. I live in Scotland and my family has been in Scotland for, depending on the branch, from 150 - 200 years, and more, but I am nearly 100% Irish, with relatives in records in Scotland from about 1800, or even slightly before that date.  I have succeeded in tracing all primary branches back to Ireland, as well as most 'straggling' branches too!).

I have managed to trace relatives either from Ireland directly, or subsequent to living in Scotland, to the 4 corners of the globe, but it is not so easy to trace where you family lived in Ireland, unless the family was particularly diligent! For example, being basically illiterate untill close to 1900, we did not have any sort of 'family bible' tradition!    We knew the origin of maybe 4 of the 8 great grandparents, in terms of the county for some, and more details for others, but never as close as a townland.