Author Topic: Victorian Pulborough  (Read 627 times)

Offline alllegs

• RootsChat Aristocrat
    • View Profile
Victorian Pulborough
« on: Tuesday 06 July 21 20:16 BST (UK) »
Hello!

I was wondering if any of you lovely people could assist me. I'm a primary school teacher and I'm looking to update our history topics for next academic year.

One of my favourite topics I studied at primary school was the Victorians. We traced the Victorian villagers from the 1881 census. We located their houses and their graves etc and really got to know them and their lives in Victorian times. This topic sparked my passion for history and lead to me research my family tree etc and I would love to recreate this with my class.

I know I can access the 1881 census for free through the family search website but it is requiring me to search for names rather than just the village. I was wondering if anyone would be able to explain how I can search for just the village or point me in the right direction for somewhere else I can find the 1881 census pages for free? Ideally I'd love the entire village census returns. Obviously Ancestry etc are unaffordable for a school budget and I've already used all my various emails for the 7 day free trials previously for my own family tree research.

Anyhow, if anyone can help I'm after census returns for Pulborough, West Sussex.

Thank you in anticipation.
Legs xx
Census Information is Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
DUR-Bainbridge,Hodgson,Richardson,Walker,Thompson,Armory,Wynn,Humble,Dunn,Chapman,Herin
YKS-Bradley,Hellawell,Dransfield,Sanderson,Gledhill,Mallinson,Tyas,Thornton,Nobel,Brook,Senior,Bower,Kay,Hirst,Smith,Lockwood, Clayton,Rollinson,Swallow
NTHNTS-Hubbard,Line,Goate,Tyler,Weed,Warren,Brown,Hollowell,Bird,Kirby,Dolby,Gilbert,Wootton
NFK-Burton,Myhill,Fisher,Thompson
LNRK-Neilson,Dudson,Forrest,McNight,Paterson
WL-Williams

Offline jonw65

• RootsChat Marquessate