Author Topic: Brownes of Honiton - 17th and 18th century  (Read 946 times)

Offline Geordie daughter

• RootsChat Veteran
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Brownes of Honiton - 17th and 18th century
« on: Sunday 28 November 21 14:39 GMT (UK) »
I having been tracing members of the Browne family who were in Honiton from at least the 1620s, and they are proving tricky to gather data on, not least because around 1705, John Browne became a Nonconformist, so baptisms/births for his children are patchy.

I am hoping that someone may be able to help me with various bits of information on John Browne and his family in particular, but anything on related Brownes would be good too, as it will help to provide a bigger picture. John (youngest surviving son of cutler William Browne and his wife Hannah) was a gunsmith by trade, and he seems to have married twice, first to Mary Hall (d. March 1716), and then to a lady called Hannah. I have found the first marriage, but, frustratingly, not the second, which I've estimated to have taken place some time between 1717-1720, and is the one I'd really like to have the details of. John and Hannah had a son Arthur (baptised 1728) who was a bookseller and eventually settled in Bristol with his family, but there were at least two other children of this marriage, for whom I can't find baptisms, but who appear in the parish burial registers: William, buried July 1720, and Jane, buried May 1731.