Author Topic: Looking for ideas to trace my Black surname from Scotland to the U.S.  (Read 949 times)

Offline JimBlack

• RootsChat Extra
  • Census information Crown Copyright, from www.nationalarchives.gov.uk
    • View Profile
Looking for ideas to trace my Black surname from Scotland to the U.S.
« on: Sunday 16 January 22 13:12 GMT (UK) »
Hi everyone.  New guy here.  I've been researching my Black surname for over 30 years and can't get past a John Black (1803-1856), who was a successful shop owner in New York City and who was apparently born there.  My paper trail says his parents were born in Scotland but I've exhausted the searches on the big genealogy sites for legal docs, immigration, census, etc.  I've also checked ScotlandsPeople and many other sites, including many ship passenger lists.

My Y-DNA test connects me with the Rankin surname from Argyll (Glencoe area) so there was a name change, likely in the 1700s.  My Black ancestors may be highlanders from that area but they also may have moved to the south before emigrating to America in the late 1700s.  They may have also emigrated to Nova Scotia initially but that hasn't turned up much info either.  And yes, it's even possible they were Ulster Scots before coming to America but there is no evidence of that.

Of course there are many Blacks in Scotland in the late 1700s, and plenty in New York City then also, but making the connections has been quite difficult.  If anyone has any ideas on how I can make the Scotland-USA connection, or has looked into the Black or Rankin names, I'd love to hear your comments.  I have checked the SIT on this site and will email some researchers soon.

Thanks for reading.  I have a lot of info on all my other family lines going back hundreds of years but my direct paternal line has been the hardest nut to crack!

Online Forfarian

• RootsChat Marquessate
  • http://www.rootschat.com/links/01ruz/
    • View Profile